Welcome to the ARLIS/NA-MW Blog

Welcome, Mountain Westerners.

MWArtLibraries is a test blog for the Mountain West Chapter of ARLIS/NA. Why a test? Well, to see if this is really a useful format for us to share information about what we’re doing and what we’re thinking about. Our newsletter comes out only once a year; the blog can be updated any time. If you have news you’d like to share, or suggestions for other content, please email the Editor. And who is this mysterious editor? I’m Caroline Dechert, a member of ARLIS since 2013, when I became Librarian and Archivist at the Museum of International Folk Art in Santa Fe.

I hope we can use this space to share ideas, links to cool new things we’ve found, and virtual tours of our libraries. As a librarian new to arts librarianship, I would love to learn more about what people are working on. I’m betting I’m not alone in that. Please send your news and ideas, share how you’ve worked around pesky problems, and brag about your successes to colleagues who will understand and appreciate! Postings need not be elaborate or long, and links to existing articles, posts, and such are very welcome.

